

MINUTES OF THE 2024 SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING OF

Cycling New Zealand

7:30pm, 12th August 2024 Virtual – Microsoft Teams

1. WELCOME

2. ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

Cycling New Zealand Board members in attendance:

- Martin Snedden (Chair)
- Heidi Addington
- Robyn Clements
- Michelle Henderson

Member Organisation Presidents/Representatives in attendance:

- Chris Greenough (BMX New Zealand Inc President)
- Rachelle Spencer (Cycling New Zealand Road and Track Inc President)
- Waine Harding (New Zealand Schools Cycling Association Inc President)
- Ryan Hunt (Mountain Bike NZ Inc President)

Cycling New Zealand staff in attendance

- Simon Peterson (Chief Executive)
- Rachelle Stoddart (General Manager Finance and Partnerships)
- Rochelle Fisher (Office Administrator)

Other

- Simon Cogan
- Logan Townsend

- Mark Whyman
- Tony Mitchell
- Brendan Patterson
- Stephen Holdsworth

AGM attendance:

- Total attendance: 17
- A quorum as required by clause 25.13 of the constitution was met.

The Chair welcomed everyone, acknowledged the successful Olympic 2024 campaign and introduced each of the board members and member organisation presidents.

3. APOLOGIES

Vicki Campbell (CNZ Board)

4. CONFIRMATION OF ELIGIBILITY TO VOTE AND PROXIES

The Chair noted that as per the constitution, clause 25.1 Eligibility to Vote: The following members and persons are eligible to vote at a General Meeting in accordance with this constitution:

- a. Member Organisations
- b. The Chairperson, but solely for the purposes of a casting vote (Rule 25.3)

25.2 Voting Entitlement – Member Organisations – Each Member Organisation shall be entitled to one (1) vote provided that the Member Organisation has complied with the requirements specified in the constitution.

5. ELECTION OF ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS

Elected Positions

The Chair provided an overview of the Board Appointment Panel (BAP) interview process for the Elected Board Member positions and acknowledged the candidates.

There were three elected board member positions.

These vacancies have arisen through Mel Short resigning at the 2024 AGM, Steve Stannard resigning in August 2023 and Cath Cheatley resigning in late 2022.

There were 3 valid nominations.

a) The Member Organisations (BMX New Zealand) put forward a nomination for Simon Cogan, with Simon eligible for a casual vacancy through until the 2026 Cycling New Zealand AGM. Simon may be re-elected for an additional four-year term.

Proposed Resolution: That Simon Cogan be formally elected to the Cycling New Zealand Board.

BMX New Zealand Inc/ New Zealand Schools Cycling Association Inc
Carried

b) The Member Organisations (New Zealand Schools Cycling Association Inc) put forward a nomination for Logan Townsend, with Logan eligible for a four-year term. Logan may be reelected for an additional four-year term.

Proposed Resolution: That Logan Townsend be formally elected to the Cycling New Zealand Board.

New Zealand Schools Cycling Association Inc / Cycling New Zealand Road and Track Inc Carried

The Member Organisations (Cycling New Zealand Road and Track Inc) put forward a
nomination for Mark Whyman, with Mark eligible for a casual vacancy through until the 2025
 Cycling New Zealand AGM. Mark may be re-elected for an additional two consecutive terms.

Proposed Resolution: That Mark Whyman be formally elected to the Cycling New Zealand Board.

Cycling New Zealand Road and Track Inc / Mountain Bike NZ Inc Carried

The elected board members gave an overview of their background.

6. CLOSING

The Chair thanked everyone for their support and attendance.

Meeting closed at 7.43pm